Tewksbury Public School School Committee Workshop August 16, 2023

School Committee / Administrator Workshop Wednesday, August 16, 2023 - 2:00 PM

Tewksbury Memorial High School Large Group Instruction Room 1 (LGI-1) 320 Pleasant Street, Tewksbury, MA 01876

CALL TO ORDER

Ms. Garabedian called the August 16, 2023 School Committee/Administrator Workshop to order at 2:00 p.m.

SCHOOL COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Bridget L. Garabedian, Chair Keith M. Sullivan, Vice-Chair Kayla Biagioni-Smith, Clerk Nicholas G. Parsons, Member Richard Russo, Jr., Member

SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS PRESENT

Brenda Theriault- Regan, Superintendent Lori McDermott, Assistant Superintendent David Libby, Business Manager Richard Pelletier, Director of Student Services Jason Stamp, Director of S.T.E.M. / IT Administrator Andrew Long, Principal, Tewksbury Memorial High School Michelle Dick, Assistant Principal, Tewksbury Memorial High School Sean O'Leary, Assistant Principal, Tewksbury Memorial High School Ronald Drouin, Athletic Director John Weir, Principal, John Wynn Middle School Victoria Cordeiro, Assistant Principal, John Wynn Middle School Judi McInnes, Principal, John Ryan Elementary School Bill Hart, Assistant Principal, John Ryan Elementary School Jay Harding, Principal, Center Elementary School Robert Rogers, Assistant Principal, Center Elementary School Alexis Bosworth, Principal, Dewing Elementary School Terry Gerrish, Principal, Heath Brook School

SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS EXCUSED

Karen Baker O'Brien, Director of Student & Family Services Felicia Cenanovic, Director of Literacy Eileen Osborne, Assistant Business Manager

SCHOOL COMMITTEE/ADMINISTRATORS WORKSHOP

Ms. Regan opened the 2023-2024 School Committee/Administrator Workshop and commenced the presentations. The powerpoint presentation, 23-24 District Goals and School Improvement Plans, may be viewed on the Tewksbury Public Schools Website.

Ms. Garabedian reported that the School Committee developed and documented School Committee Goals for the 2023-2024 to support the schools, the Superintendent and Leadership team, and the district goals. The School Committee goals may be viewed on the TPS Website/School Committee Page.

The District Leadership Team presented the highlights and progress of the 2022-2023 school year and their 2023-2024 goals and School Improvement Plans.

Superintendent's Office:

Brenda Theriault-Regan, Superintendent of Schools 2022-2023 Progress 2023-2024 School Reopening Plan & Goals

Lori McDermott, Assistant Superintendent of Schools 2023-2024 "Big Rocks" and District Focus

S.T.E.M. & Technology:

Jason Stamp, Director of S.T.E.M. & Technology

Literacy:

Felicia Cenanovic, Director of Literacy
Ms. McDermott presented on behalf of Ms. Cenanovic.

Student and Family Support:

Karen Baker O'Brien, Director of Student & Family Support Ms. Regan presented on behalf of Ms. Baker O'Brien.

Special Education:

Richard Pelletier, Director of Special Education Candace Tharrett, Assistant Director of Student Services

Grades PK-4: Loella F. Dewing School, Heath Brook School & Center Elementary School:

Terry Gerrish, Principal of the Heath Brook School Alexis Bosworth, Principal of the Dewing School Jay Harding, Principal of the Center School Rob Rogers, Assistant Principal of the Center School

Grades 5-8: John Ryan Elementary School & John Wynn Middle School

Judi McInnes, Principal of the Ryan School Bill Hart, Assistant Principal of the Ryan School John Weir, Principal of the Wynn Middle School Victoria Cordeiro, Assistant Principal of the Wynn Middle School

Grades 9-12: Tewksbury Memorial High School:

Andy Long, Principal Michelle Dick, Assistant Principal Sean O'Leary, Assistant Principal Ronald Drouin, Athletic Director

Business Office: Mr. Libby presented on behalf of Dr. Osborne and Ms. Mugford.

David Libby, Business Manager

Transportation:

Eileen Osborne, Assistant Business Manager

Food & Nutrition Services:

Deb Mugford, Director of F&NS

The administrators responded to questions and answers from the School Committee members.

At 4:30 p.m., Ms. Garabedian adjourned the August 16, 2023 School Committee/Administrator Workshop.